top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamuel Hudson

The Many Hats I Wear...

We all wear many hats. This is nothing new to educators (nor do I think it is unique to our profession). We wake up in the mornings and we are spouses, parents, chefs, maids, sometimes caregivers to our parents. It all depends on your family dynamic.


At work you wear so many other hats. Safety officer, ensuring kids exit buses and cars safely. Wait-staff, passing out breakfast and cleaning up afterwards. Secretary/personal assistant, ensuring every child’s papers come out of their bags, lunch is chosen or present if a packer, and bag is properly stored in its location. Maid, cleaning up after them constantly. Referee, navigating the delicate balance between allowing children to work out their own problems and mediating to ensure no one is hurt (physically or emotionally). Parent, providing love and support for some children that do not experience it at home. Entertainer, because we all know we love to be on stage. We wear the hats of counselors, nurses, advocates, and more.


Finally – Educator. This is the hat that holds all the rest. We cannot be an educator if we do not choose to do everything I mentioned above and more. Each child that walks through our school doors has a story. Each one is unique. It is our job to help guide them as they write that story. Sure, we teach them arithmetic, reading, writing, science, and social studies but honestly, Google can do that too. What we do is so much more. We help them navigate life moving from child to teen to adult, providing guidance at each stage of development. Along the way they learn valuable lessons about life, citizenship, and yes, academics.


Henry Adams, an ambassador that served under Abraham Lincoln, said “Teachers affect eternity; no one can tell where their influence stops.” I take this charge seriously. My actions can affect my students in a positive or a negative way, I pray everyday that my actions are always positive. Being an educator is a very demanding profession, but it is worth every late night, every prayer, every book I read, every hat I wear. At the end of a long day I am often exhausted, but I would not want it any other way.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page